The Ordinary 100% Plant-Derived Squalane 

Hi beauties,

I have The Ordinary 100% Plant Derived Squalane today, I got it in a haul a while ago and I’ve been testing it ever since.

Squalane is an oil derived traditionally from shark liver, however now plant sources such as aramanth seed, rice bran, wheat germ, and olives. I had heard of Squalane oil before, (thanks to Instagram!) the brand Indie Lee have one in their range which seems to be quite popular.

I first tested it on my hand on the day I got it, and I could not believe how silky it felt. I have tried many oils over the years but not quite feeling the same texture of Squalane. It’s thicker than The Ordinary Argan and Rosehip Oils and incredibly hydrating. I can use it just on its own, I don’t necessarily need a moisturiser over the top although of course if you want to, you can.

I’ve tested this Face and Body, I’ve noticed such a difference when adding it to my body lotion or butter and the hydration lasts a very long time. I can put lotion or butter on and an hour later I can put more on. Squalane just made them both richer which I need for my eczema prone body. 

I have also used a couple of drops in my hair and it’s made it very soft and shiny, you need very little though as it’s incredibly rich. If you have coarse hair like mine it responds well!

If you have very dry skin and looking for a good, reliable facial oil you can’t go much wrong with this! It is the richest of The Ordinary range and of course incredibly affordable at £5.50 for a 30ml bottle. You can get it online at http://www.theordinary.com.

Till next time, 

Lucy xxx

6 thoughts on “The Ordinary 100% Plant-Derived Squalane 

  1. Everyone is talking about this brand at the moment. I definitely want to try some of the products out, will have to have a look online! Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve tried some of the Niod products that sit under the Deceim umbrella but some of them sound so scientific! I’d have to read up on them a bit. The Ordinary looks good, definitely on my list.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

