Indie Botanical Cleansing Balm #1*

image

Hi beauties,

Indie Botanicals Cleansing Balm #1 was included in my Cleansing Balms Comparison post but I wanted to do a more in depth review and tell you about the brand.

Indie Botanicals are a UK company that create cleansing balms, facial oils, eye serums, exfoliating grains and cloths. Their products are based on the oil cleansing method which I have been a converted to (although I can’t give up my beloved cream Cleanse and Polish!) and handmade. There are 3 cleansing balms based on skin types:

  • Cleansing Balm #1 Oily/Problem Skin
  • Cleansing Balm #2 Normal/Sensitive
  • Cleansing Balm #3 Dry/Mature

There are essential oils of Tea Tree, Lavender and Geranium which are used in different concentrations according to your skin type. Indie Botanicals very kindly sent me a jar of Cleansing Balm #1 when they heard that my skin was throwing a hissy fit and breaking out. I received the most gorgeously packaged box with a glass jar inside. I know you shouldn’t be swayed by packaging, after all it doesn’t go on your skin, but I did feel I was getting a real luxury gift.

image

The balm is completely solid, the base being Shea Butter, Moringa Oil, Castor Oil that are used for their cleansing, softening, antioxidant, antiviral and antifungal properties and essential oils are added. I find it easier to scoop out some balm using a spatula and then warming it in my hands while also inhaling the beautiful scent. It does take a wee bit of time for it to melt, however as I use this predominately as my evening cleanse this doesn’t bother me at all. I like to do some massage with the balm as it glides over your skin easily once warm and it dissolves makeup and grime instantly.

The cloth that is supplied is also amazing, my skin felt so clean afterwards. It’s not too abrasive, lightly exfoliating and it is a decent thickness (I can’t bear thin cloths, I just don’t think they work as well) and washes well too.

I always use the balm as my first cleanse in a double cleansing routine, it doesn’t work as well when your skin is damp it feels a bit sticky so always on dry skin and remove with the warm cloth. It’s extremely enjoyable to use and has really helped to calm my skin. I saw results within a few days, my skin was clean, soft, soothed and lightly buffed by the cloth.

You get 55g of balm in a jar so at £21.95 can be seen as quite expensive, however I would buy this balm because the results were excellent and it is of high quality. Handmade in the UK and with no ingredients like mineral oils, sulfates, chemical preserving agents and synthetic fragrance I think it is worth the price. I will be checking out their facial oils next, for me that’s the obvious next step! I really feel like I am being pampered when doing what most consider a chore.

Cleansing Balm #1 is available from http://www.indiebotanicals.com and is £21.95 for 55g.

Till next time,

Lucy xxx

*PR Sample

5 thoughts on “Indie Botanical Cleansing Balm #1*

  1. Thanks for your review Lucy! We’re so pleased it’s helped to calm your skin! x

    Lucy, I’ve included some information below to try and help your readers but please just remove the post if you aren’t happy with it… x

    In order to help ‘I’m Holly’, none of the scents are over-powering; all essential oils are added for their therapeutic benefits to the skin rather than to fragrance. All contain geranium, French lavender and tea tree essential oils but in different concentrations to suit skin need. #1 has the highest concentration of tea tree, #2 the highest concentration of lavender and #3 the highest concentration of geranium.

    We are totally committed to our customers and offer a no-quibble guarantee so if you ordered a balm and didn’t like the scent you can just send it back to us and we’ll refund you… We’re here to help so if you aren’t sure which balm you need or want more information on anything at all, just email us hello@indiebotanicals.com x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

