Budget Beauty

image

Hi beauties,

For this post I wanted to find really good products for under £10, but actually most of these are under £6! I love writing about good deals and love a bargain, so when I went into Superdrug recently I picked up a new cleanser and had the thought doing a post on a strict budget.

So first on the list are cleansers. Superdrug Naturally Radiant Hot Cloth Cleanser (HCC) is one I have seen around for a while. It has a cocoa butter base so it is nice and rich without having mineral oils, sulfates and parabens, things that I do not want in skincare. The cleanser has extracts of Kiwi and Mulberry for brightening and it does a very good job of removing makeup. My only criticism is that I feel it leaves a bit of residue on the skin so after removing the cleanser I have another wipe around with the cloth. Oh and the muslin cloth provided is crap so I did chuck that one and used my own. Otherwise it’s very nice and smells lovely and fruity too. Naturally Radiant HCC is suitable for vegetarians and vegans, it comes in 150ml size for £5.99 although at the time of writing it was on a better than half price promotion so I bought it for £2.98.

image

The next cleanser I picked up is from Amie Skincare that you can find in Waitrose. Their Morning Clear Purifying Facial Wash is also cocoa butter based so beautifully rich and it smells divine! This was my favourite of the two, just because it doesn’t leave any residue on the skin, so one wipe round each part of your face is sufficient. The fragrance is kind of a fresh floral, it’s really hard to describe so all I can say is that I love it. This formula is also free of mineral oils, sulfates, parabens and petrochemicals. It is suitable for vegetarians and vegans. You can use it like a hot cloth cleanser or a facial wash as it rinses away easily. I recommended this to my best friend for her 8 year old daughter who was suffering with spots and greasy skin, she got on very well with this cleanser and it’s helped to clear her skin. Another generous 150ml size at £4.95 and at the time of writing Waitrose has Amie products on a buy one get one free promotion.

Next are moisturisers, so first up is Amie Morning Light Hydrating Daily Moisturiser. I’ve actually tried Amie’s matte moisturiser before and loved it, but as it is colder at the moment, I thought I would try the richer formula. Morning Light is a beautiful rich cream but it is in no way greasy. It glides over and sinks into your skin really easily and I also used this as an eye cream with no irritation. The scent is the same as the cleanser, lovely and fresh. It’s 100ml size for £4.95.

miracle_mattifier_moisturiser

Another lovely moisturiser is Good Things Superfruit Miracle Mattifier Moisturiser, I chose this one as it is a typical moisturiser for my oily skin type, it is very good for the price. It made my skin soft and hydrated but with no shine. This brand was created by beauty journalist and author Alice Hart Davis which like Amie is a skincare brand that uses natural extracts for good affordable and effective skincare products. Miracle Mattifier contains superfruit extracts to balance oily skin yet give needed hydration. The texture is thinner, so sinks in easily with no greasy after feel and a fresh fruity scent. 100ml size for £7.99.

 

image

My treatment choice is Boot Botanics Organic Facial Oil. If you are a regular reader you will know my love of oils but naturally based ones with no mineral oil in. This organic facial oil is Sweet Almond Oil, Argan Oil and Rosehip Oil which are rich in omega fatty acids our skin needs. It is a thicker oil than I have tried before, I use 4 drops for my face, neck and decollette and although it is thicker it sinks in well leaving my skin soft and smooth. It does have essential oils of Geranium and Bergamot, but these are very subtle. This is brilliantly priced at £9.99 for 25ml and at the moment there is a third off.

I hope you have enjoyed this post, I must say purely selfishly this has been a brilliant one to research the products and test them. There are some definite repurchases in this list for me and ones I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend for those on a budget.

Till next time,

Lucy xxx

Leave a Reply

