Cleansing Balms Comparison

Hello beauties

I was asked by my Instafriend Janet @Beautyandfun50plus to do a comparison review on some of the cleansing balms that I have, I have actually since bought another one but this is because it was an excellent price. As Janet said to me, some of them are so expensive, I wanted a good range to compare.

Elemis Pro Collagen Cleansing Balm 105g £39.50 from http://www.elemis.com

image

This is a beautifully decadent balm that cleans your skin as well as removing makeup and leaves skin wonderfully soft. You apply this to dry skin first and then what I really like is that you can add water to emulsify and turn the oil into a milk. The balm contains Mimosa and Rose waxes, Starflower Oil, Elderberry Seed Oil, Optimega™ Oil, Coconut, Shea, Sweet Almond Oil, Padina Pavonica, Vitamin E. The fragrance is beautiful with essential oils of Lavender, Clove, Ho Wood, Menthol, Chamomile and Eucalyptus. It is gorgeous but I would not buy it as an individual item just because of the price.

Indie Botanicals Cleansing Balm #1 Oily / Problem Skin 55g £21.95 http://www.indiebotanicals.com

image

Indie Botanicals very kindly sent me a jar of their balm after they had heard I wanted to try it as my skin was playing up. This balm is not one you can emulsify which initially put me off, but saying that after using it I am converted! The base of this balm is Shea butter, Moringa oil, Castor oil with essential oils of Tea Tree, Lavender and Geranium in various concentrations depending on your skin type and which balm you choose. The texture is quite thick so I find it much easier using a spatula to get the product out of the jar. The balms are handmade in the UK, so in comparison with the Elemis this would actually be more expensive for the same size. However, a little goes a long way and this would be one I would replace as the balm has helped to calm my skin.

Merumaya Melting Cleansing Balm 100ml £16.50 http://www.merumaya.com 

image

Merumaya state this product redefines the cleansing balm category and they are so right. I have been wanting to try this balm ever since it was launched 3 years ago and Merumaya kindly sent me a tube. This balm is so easy to use it is ridiculous! You need a tiny amount and you don’t need to spend ages rubbing it between your hands to warm it up, it’s good to go straight away. The ingredient listing is impressive too, the base of Sweet Almond Oil with Echium Oil (derived from borage) is chock full of omegas that are so beneficial to skin. Another balm you can emulify and I use a cloth to remove mine at night, however in the morning I just rinse leaving no residue and my skin is beautifully soft and conditioned. A definite repurchase here. Go and try it if you haven’t before!

Earth Minerals Cleansing Balm 100ml £17.95 http://www.ebay.co.uk

image

I discovered Earth Minerals when I was browsing on eBay one day. I wanted to have a balm cleanser in my skincare collection but my budget is somewhat limited. I initially got a 20g sample jar (as pictured) which is useful if you are travelling. It is made from cold pressed Moringa Oil, with Shea Butter, Cocoa Butter and Jojoba oil. There are essential oils of Rosewood and Neroli, I would say that I could hardly detect a scent so if you are looking for something that doesn’t have a strong smell this balm would be good. It is another emulifying one that removes makeup and grime very easily. A thinner texture like the Merumaya so it doesn’t take ages to apply. This balm is great value and is efficient.

Trilogy Makeup Be Gone Cleansing Balm 80g £19.50 http://www.trilogyproducts.com

image

I am a big fan of Trilogy’s Everything Balm which is a moisturising salve so when I had read so many good reviews of Makeup Be Gone Cleansing Balm  I needed to try it for myself. The base of this balm is Sunflower Seed Oil, Olive Oil, Coconut Oil, Mango Seed Butter, Rosehip Oil, Vitamin E and Chamomile extract. It has a pleasant rosy kind of scent and takes off makeup very well. My skin was lovely, soft and smooth after use. The balm doesn’t emulsify that well, so I would recommend just removing with a warm cloth. Trilogy is another great value option.

image

Marks and Spencer Pure Rose Cleansing Balm 85g £12.00 http://www.marksandspencer.com

The last balm comes from good old M&S, I was browsing again and came across the Pure Rose Cleansing Balm. I had to get a jar as this is the best value price wise of all the products. It is a balm that easily melts as you remove it from the jar. It is Sweet Almond Oil based, with other ingredients of Shea Butter, Beeswax, Castor Oil Camelina and Blackcurrant Seed Oil. There is an ever so slight smell of Rose, to me I smell the Bergamot and Neroli making it very reminiscent of Elemis new cleansing oil. It takes off makeup really well and cleans your skin leaving it so soft and comfortable. An excellent product that is a pleasure to use.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this comparison review and a big thank you to Janet for her request, I hope it’s been useful!

Till next time,

Lucy xxx

 

 

12 thoughts on “Cleansing Balms Comparison

    1. Thank you my lovely! Glad you enjoyed the post, it was a great one to put together. I’m converted to oil and balm cleansing (although I can’t give up Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish!) as they clean so well with no stripping. I’m totally in love with the Marks and Spencer one xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

