Make Up Primers

  
Hello lovelies,

I am super fussy when it comes to makeup primers as I am yet to find the perfect one for me when using Ultrasun SPF as my moisturiser base. I have tried so many I don’t even think I could list them here! These are the ones I have at the moment so I thought I would review them and tell you what I think.

Bare Minerals Prime Time BB Primer

I think this is definitely the one that is best for mineral/powder foundations. It is a cream formula with a lovely tint that gives you a very sheer amount of coverage. It smooths out your skin, covering any dry flaky patches and imperfections. My beef with this is it doesn’t help with shine at all and I do find it difficult to apply as it is very slippery. My skin is so oily that shine literally comes through in about 20 minutes and this primer for me does nothing to help that. A really good thing though, this primer has SPF30 included in the formula. Bare Minerals Prime Time BB Primer is available from http://www.bareminerals.co.uk at £23.00.

Kiko Mat Base Corrector

Kiko’s primer does help with shine, but I find it does go into my pores making them look like white spots all over my face so when I add foundation it looks glaringly obvious. So I really like it for the anti shine properties and tend to use it most days when I don’t wear makeup. It does last a long time and price wise it is good value. Kiko Mat Base Corrector is available from http://www.kikocosmetics.com at £8.90

Benefit Porefessional

Great for pores, again not so great for shine. I do like this primer, I find you don’t actually need a lot so as much as it is an outlay at £24.50 it does go quite far. It is a silicone formula and glides over your skin nicely. I just wish the dreaded oiliness didn’t come through!

Benefit Stay Flawless 15 Hour Primer

Actually I think this is my favourite. It is best used with a liquid base so I will use my CC cream underneath and pop my Bare Minerals Original Foundation over the top. Quite odd as it is a stick formula and more solid, you swipe it over your skin and apply your liquid base over the top. If I just use my Bare Minerals, it tends to go into my pores and looks bad. Apart from that, it is good for preventing shine and your base really does grip to the primer. I don’t think it lasts 15 hours, certainly not for me anyway, but it lasts me a good 6 hours so I am happy with that! Benefit Stay Flawless Primer is available from http://www.benefitcosmetics.co.uk at £24.50.

Revlon PhotoReady Prime & Anti Shine Balm

I was impressed with this, it is versatile so you can use it as a primer and an anti shine balm over your make up. This is a lightweight balm texture than you press onto your skin, I try not to use too much because it can get into pores and again this is probably best with a liquid rather than powder base. The anti shine part though is good, I haven’t use it over make up, I use a mattifying powder instead, it seems to last a good 5-6 hours on me. I would definitely repurchase this one, I like the texture and the fact that it does last like the Benefit Stay Flawless. Revlon PhotoReady Prime + Anti Shine is available from http://www.superdrug.com at £9.99.

So that’s the primers! Have you tried any of these? What are your best oil control primers? Leave me a comment and let me know.

Till next time,

Lucy xxx

2 thoughts on “Make Up Primers

Leave a Reply

