Favourite moisturisers

Hello there,

I wanted to talk about my favourite moisturisers  for this post and when I collected them all up for photos I didn’t actually realise how many I had.

Ok to start off, is Liz Earle Skin Repair technically this is just one moisturiser but throughout the year I do use all three variants. Skin Repair is a beautifully sandalwood scented cream and it contains Avocado oil, Borage (also known as starflower) oil and naturally sourced Vitamin E. At this time of year I use Skin Repair Light as my day moisturiser and then in autumn/winter I step up to Normal/Combination and Dry/Sensitive depending on how my skin is behaving. Liz’s philosophy when creating this is that oilier skin needs hydrating with oil as our skin is made of oil, she doesn’t believe in oil free formulas. I adore this product and I have been using it for many years now, the smell is so beautifully comforting. The Light option is more of a lotion that goes into the skin very easily with no grease. I usually repurchase Skin Repair as part of a set from either Liz Earle direct or QVC as it is a bit more expensive than I would pay for a day to day moisturiser. Skin Repair is £20.25 for 50ml.

Currently my night cream is Elemis Pro Collagen Marine Cream. I was fortunate enough to get 4 of the Christmas TSV’s from QVC last year so I have had quite a decent stock! Pro Collagen is a versatile moisturiser that you can use under your eyes and down to your neck and decollete, I do find that the longer I use it the less I actually use which is great as it’s not the cheapest option for me. I tend to try and find it online, you can get it in tubes from eBay and that does make it a bit more affordable. The formula is a lovely light gel-cream texture that I find brilliant for my skin. Many anti ageing creams are thick and heavy, so for an oily skin type it can feel stifling and greasy. As you readers know, I am in my mid 30’s so anti ageing is firmly on my radar. It has a great effect on my skin, leaves it soft and smooth and also when I do use it under my eyes my lines look so much better! The fragrance is gorgeous, so lovely, fresh and clean so I think that’s probably why men like it so much as it isn’t overly girly. A fantastic all round anti ageing moisturiser and if budget were no option I would use it all the time. Pro Collagen Marine Cream is £50.00 for 30ml.

A great budget option is Amie Morning Dew Matte-Finish Moisturiser. I used this a lot last Summer as a day lotion and was really pleased how good it was for my skin. It didn’t leave my shiny or greasy which I really hate (I have to blot, a lot!) and more importantly is mineral oil free. Contains extracts of Bilberry, Rosehip and Vitamin E, it’s lightly hydrating and sinks in very quickly. Morning Dew is £4.95 for 100ml.


(Photo credit: http://www.qvcuk.com)

SBC Vitamin ACE Day & Night Cream is another I keep going back to, it’s more focused on anti ageing and a slightly richer texture that I find I need in the colder months. It contains Oxysomes which contains encapsulated Vitamin C and Vitamin E.with a base cream containing Vitamin A. SBC say this keeps the vitamins more potent so you get the best benefit from them. This moisturiser is more for those who have the early signs of ageing and preventing any further damage. Vitamin ACE is £29.00 for 100ml.


(Photo credit: http://www.qvcuk.com)

SBC Collagen Day & Night Cream is for those who already see the signs of ageing, again this is a light gel cream texture but still very hydrating. My skin loves this moisturiser so when I can’t afford Pro Collagen, I turn to this instead. It contains soluble Collagen Oceagen along with Kukui seed and passion flower oils. It makes my skin feel hydrated and firmer, I alternate Collagen in the evening with Vitamin ACE during the day. For me these two moisturisers are a definite repurchase as ml for ml they represent the best value for anti ageing properties.

As I mentioned in my post about the Gatineau Melatogenine mask (Click here to read) I sometimes use this over a night cream I use for extra plumping of lines and hydration. You can just use the mask on it’s own as a night cream if you wish to.

What are your moisturisers of choice? Leave me a comment and tell me what you think.

Till next time,

Lucy xxx

Leave a Reply

