Favourite hand creams

Hi you lovely people,

Ok, so I’ve talked about two of these products before (Click here for manicure favourites) but I wanted to include a few others for a hand cream post. I am addicted to hand creams, I try so many it’s crazy. I don’t think I would actually be able to tell you how many I have, they are in so many places and I am so fickle when it comes to them but these definitely are the ones that I do repurchase time and time again.  In fact, they live on my bedside cabinet and I interchange the first 3 during the day as I use hand cream every time I wash my hands. (Yes, it really is an addiction…) the last 1 is a treatment I apply before bed.


If you’ve read the blog before I don’t think you would be surprised to see a Liz Earle product in a favourites list! I can’t remember when I tried this as I’ve used it for so many years now and I do use it every day. This is the gorgeous Liz Earle Hand Repair. It’s a rich cream, but leaves a matte finish so it’s a great day time use hand cream. The fragrance is beautiful, bergamot, chamomile, neroli and lavender, delicate and slightly floral. It’s not the cheapest, a 150ml pump is £21.00 but to be fair it does last me a very long time and as I interchange creams during the day (depending on what fragrance I fancy at any one time) little does go a very long way.
The second more luxury hand cream is the beautiful La Source Hand Therapy from Crabtree & Evelyn. This is a gorgeous macadamia ternifolia seed oil base with shea butter which is super hydrating but not at all greasy. It does leave a very slight sheen on your skin and the scent is so uplifting and fresh, it’s quite aquatic so I think very unisex. It leaves my hands so soft, smooth and helps to prevent the dreaded cracks I can get thanks to my super dry skin. I would say that La Source is slightly more hydrating than Liz Earle Hand Repair due to the richer formula. It is more economical too in a 250g pump bottle for £20.00.

So this is my budget option, which is Dr Organic Lavender Skin Lotion. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned my love of lavender before but if I haven’t it’s official: I adore it! This lotion is beautiful, it contains shea butter and cocoa butter so it’s rich without being greasy. I think you can see a theme going on here, I love shea butter formulations but I’m not keen on grease! The fragrance is pure lavender, almost herby and so relaxing, I do use this as a body lotion too at night especially when I’ve been having trouble sleeping. The lotion leaves my skin so soft and conditioned, I love using it at any time. I am a huge fan of the Dr Organic range, and it is great value at 200ml tube for £6.49.

This is my treatment hand cream which I use before bed time as it is much more concentrated than the others, the legendary L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream. I use this every night as part of my wind down routine, the texture is much thicker and can be quite greasy if you use too much. The smell is beautiful ylang ylang and jasmine, is clean and fresh, quite like original Dove hand wash and because I do wash my hands a lot (and also change nail polish frequently) my hands do get dry. In Winter I can use it during the day if needed, I just need to remember to use not so much as I do at night, I usually pop a thicker layer on then to get more benefit overnight. If my hands are very bad, then I slather cuticle oil all over my nails and hands, use a good amount of Shea Butter hand cream, then I put on a pair of cotton gloves and sleep with them on. Not a sexy look I admit, but sometimes needed!! L’Occitane Shea Butter hand cream is £19.00 for a 150ml tube.

It was quite hard to just put 4 on this list as I said before I have so many tubes of hand cream I could literally open a store, but to be favourites they have to be products that have been replaced at least 3 times.

What are your favourite hand creams? Let me know your thoughts.

Till next time,

Lucy xxx

2 thoughts on “Favourite hand creams

Leave a Reply

