Haircare


Good afternoon,

Today is all about haircare and the staple products in my routine. As I have a problem scalp I found that using high street shampoos that contain SLS would irritate me and make me itch so after I had discovered Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish, I branched out into trying their shampoo and conditioner.

Botanical Shine Shampoo is Aloe Vera and West African Shea butter based rather than the usual SLS formula. The scent is beautiful, with sweet orange, apple extract, cedarwood, patchouli, geranium, lemon, vanilla and rosemary. It leaves my hair so shiny, soft and feeling so clean without feeling stripped.

I have coarse wiry hair, (which I hate!!) so the conditioner I use from Liz Earle is the Botanical Shine Conditioner for dry and damaged hair. Like the shampoo, it’s also based on a West African Shea butter formulation also with Kalahari Melon oil for it’s hydrating and softening properties. It’s contains Blue Seakale which is colour safe, so if you do colour your hair you don’t need to worry that every time you wash your hair you are removing all the pigment. I love how soft my hair is after I’ve used them both and how easy it is to blow dry. I have short hair that needs a bit of volume to it and I do find I can get the volume I want without using tons of other products.

The next product that I have fallen in love with is Philip Kingsley Elasiticizer with Geranium & Neroli. This is a limited edition that was made especially for QVC and was their product of the month in February. I had not tried it before, but had heard great things about it, I have some grey coming through (I feel FAR too young to be having grey!) which is even more coarse than my brunette locks so wanted to incorporate a weekly  treatment to make it more manageable. And as I am obsessed with neroli I knew that I would love the fragrance! I wasn’t wrong, it is absolutely stunning and the effect it has on my hair is so good. Elasticizer is a pre shampoo treatment and you can use it in a different number of ways. The directions on the bottle is to dampen your hair and then apply it from mid-lengths to the ends and leave for a minimum of 20 minutes. You then rinse and shampoo and condition as normal.

You can however, leave it in longer if you wish to. I usually pop it in my hair just before I do my skincare routine for the evening and then leave it in overnight. You can’t overuse Elasticizer as you rinse and wash it out so if you do have fine hair don’t worry about it leaving your hair heavy or lank. Another way you can use it is dampen your hair and put some in, and while you are waiting for the shower to heat up or are brushing your teeth you can leave it in just for a couple of minutes and you will still get a benefit from using it even for a short amount of time. I do hope they continue with the limited edition fragrance as it is so beautiful, but with a litre size I don’t think I have to worry about running out for at least a year!

What are your favourite haircare products? Leave me a comment and let me know.

Till next time,

Lucy xxx

Leave a Reply

