Bare Minerals Ready SPF20 Foundation

 Hi there,

As the last few posts have been skincare and manicure I thought that I would write about my favourite foundation.

Bare Minerals for me is a brilliant make up brand and over the last couple of years have really been adding to their portfolio of products with new textures I didn’t think they would be able to do in line with their philosophy, but my favourite base is the Ready SPF20 Foundation.

I have oily skin and liquid foundation slides off my skin so easily no matter what kind of primer I use (I have tried so many and yet to find my Holy Grail!) so a few years ago I tried the Original mineral powder foundation instead. I found that the staying power was so much better for me that I was converted.

As I have got older I found that I have needed more coverage as my skin tone is very fair but uneven, so when Bare Minerals bought out the Ready foundation which offered more coverage I ordered it straight away.

The Ready formulation has been created by pressing the minerals with cold pressed rosehip seed oil into the solid formula. As with the Original, this is still makeup that is good for your skin so if you do have sensitivities this shouldn’t cause you any problems.

Ready still offers the beautiful luminous glow that Original gives, no chalky finish even with Mineral Veil over the top, but as I found you are able to build a better coverage to hide imperfections and it is so quick to use! It is also in a compact rather than being the loose minerals, so if the mess is something that annoys you about powder foundations you don’t have any of that worry here. I use a stubby kabuki brush, Bare Minerals do a specific Precision Face Brush which was made specifically for the Ready formula. The Precision Face brush gives you full coverage straight away, I find that using a kabuki brush gives me a bit more control over how I build my base. I also use the Maximum Coverage Concealer brush for under my eyes and around my nose.

My shade is R170 which is comparable to Fairly Light in Original, I would recommend that if you aren’t sure what shade you think you would be, pop down to your local Bare Minerals counter and get shade matched. I don’t know why BM named the Ready foundation with numbers instead of their standard shade names, as it is a bit confusing. That is my only criticism however, this foundation works so well for me I don’t think that I could use any other type.

What do you think of Bare Minerals foundation? Have you tried the Ready formula? Leave me a comment and let me know.

Till next time,

Lucy xxx

Leave a Reply

