As last week was skincare I thought I would share my manicure favourites that I cannot do without.

Leighton Denny Crystal Nail File

This file is amazing, as I hate filing I want to do the job quickly without detriment to my nails. This file means you can use it in the “sawing” motion which is a bad idea using a normal emery board. It actually seals the edge of your nails so there is a smooth finish and no picking bits out the ends of nails. It’s really fantastic and I wouldn’t use any other file now.

Sally Hansen Instant Cuticle Remover

A very quick treatment, this gets rid of all excess skin around the cuticle. I tend to use it a couple of times a week as I find my cuticles grow like wildfire and I hate the way it looks when you wear polish. It’s very effective and works so quickly.

Leighton Denny Renovate (not pictured)

I use Renovate a couple of times a month just to keep my nail plate smooth. My nails have a tendency to get a bit rough and dehydrated and this treatment is amazing for that. To start, you buff your nails with side 1 of the duplex buffer. This smooth the nail so that the Renovate cream can penetrate into your nails. You only need a tiny amount and rub it into your nails, you seal in the treatment by buffing using side 2 of the buffer.

OPI Nail Envy

I’ve used Nail Envy for over 20 years, it’s the best nail strengthener for me. I use it as a base coat each time I do a manicure, it’s rare that I have a break and I feel this is down to Nail Envy. I can actually grow my nails to a longer length and they are strong enough without being brittle.

Seche Vite

The the best top coat I’ve ever tried! It’s so fantastic, I wouldn’t contemplate doing a manicure without it. It dries so quickly and really forms a shield over your nails. The gloss is also brilliant, the shine lasts such a long time on me too which I love.

Cuticle oil/butter

These 2 products are new to me, but as they work so well (a bit of a understatement!!) they are my staple go to pair. I discovered them when Hayley from Danglefoot Polish asked me to test her trial of a cuticle butter. She very kindly sent me a fragrance free version as well as the beautifully scented “Be My Sweetpea”. I fell in love with it as soon as I tried it and as much it was brilliant for my hands it was incredible on a very stubborn and uncomfortable patch of eczema that I have. I went to buy the cuticle oil as soon as I could! I love that it is in a lip gloss tube, so easy to apply and no mess at all. I apply oil every time I wash my hands, it is always at my side. Do check out Hayley’s etsy shop, she makes gorgeous polishes as well.

https://www.etsy.com/search?q=danglefootnailpolish

Hand Cream

As with oil, I also apply hand cream every time I wash my hands. I am rather obsessed with hand cream, I hate to count how many tubes I have! Liz Earle Hand Repair is a beautiful non greasy cream that I love to use during the day, the fragrance is gorgeous with essential oils of bergamot, neroli, chamomile and lavender. A little goes a long way so a 150ml pump lasts me a long time. Dr Organic Lavender Skin Lotion is a cream I use at night as the texture is richer. I absolutely adore lavender so the scent is intense and herby but without smelling old fashioned. I love it and I swear it helps me wind down for bedtime.

So these are my favourites, I certainly couldn’t do without them and neither would I want to!

Till next time,

Lucy xxx

6 thoughts on “Manicure Favourites

Leave a Reply

