The triple threat facial

IMG_1200.2014-10-12_104908 am

Cleanse – Exfoliate – Mask

I can’t remember where I heard the concept of the triple threat facial as it’s something I’ve been doing for quite a long time. I usually do this on a Sunday as the lovely Fiona Brackenbury (Training Director for Decleor) likes to call “Skincare Sunday”. Usually the best day of the week for a bit of pampering, a lovely double cleanse, a massage and some masks. I always have the intention to do a midweek mask but then I’m usually too tired even though I know it will only take 10 minutes.

So, I start off with a double cleanse with one cleanser I keep going back to time after time. I love to try new, but a true staple for me is Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish. It’s such a quick and easy cleanser to use and so thorough, even when you are wearing heavy eye makeup. I love the texture, creamy and rich, my skin never feels stripped and I love the smell! I do the first cleanse to remove makeup and SPF (I use Ultrasun face formulas every day) and then on the second cleanse I do some massage techniques to try and get a bit of glow back (I have to take strong painkillers as I have damage to the joints in my spine) as I find that my skin can look very tired and pale.

The next step for me is one of my most favourite exfoliators, Alpha H Micro Cleanse. As I’ve got oily skin I know I’m not supposed to use it too often (as I use their famous Liquid Gold 3 times a week) however I love the result so much!! I will have to be a bit careful as I’ve got a couple of broken capillaries at the side of my nose. The result is fantastic, skin is baby smooth and feels so refreshed. I would definitely recommend Micro Cleanse, especially if you have dry, dull skin on your face or body.

Because I have oily skin, I do enjoy using a clay mask. In years gone by I’ve used one’s where my skin has felt quite tight afterwards so in trying to avoid stripping I’ve gone for Dr Organic Rose Otto clay mask. The fragrance is beautiful and I do feel that it removes excess oil without my skin feeling uncomfortable.

Rosehip oil is an oil I have found that really regulates my oily skin. It’s a dry oil (which sounds weird!) that sinks in so easily and gives wonderful hydration. Especially in the winter time when central heating is cranked up and going in and outdoors I find that I need a little extra help. This is when I put the rosehip oil underneath Liz Earle Intensive Nourishing Treatment, the increased moisture is a great combination.

I interchange the Liz Earle mask with the incredible Gatineau Melatogenine Futur Plus mask, I am wrinkle phobic so adore this mask underneath my eyes. It’s a gorgeous creamy texture and you can use it as a night cream if you so wish. If I only had to use one mask forever, then it would be the Melatogenine. The results in 10 minutes is so fantastic, it softens lines and wrinkles and plumps up your skin so it looks radiant afterwards. It is a versatile product that truly does what Gatineau claims that it does. I’m obsessed!!

I know that this process may sound very long, but the results are good and as the masks generally only take 8-10 minutes at a time it is worth it.

Those are my favourite pampering products, what are yours?

Lucy xxx

Leave a Reply

